Government Officials

Information Updated March 2020


State Rep. District 29A
Joe McDonald (R)

241 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155



Legislative Assistant: Brandon Swendsen (651-296-4312)


Committees: property and local tax division, taxes, subcommittee on local government, and subcommittee on legislative process reform.

Term: Fifth term, first elected 2010

District 29A consists of the following communities: Delano, Montrose, Waverly, Howard Lake, South Haven, Annandale, and Rockford. It also includes the townships of Franklin, Woodland, Victor, Stockholm, French Lake, Southside, Corinna, Albion, Middleville, Marysville, Chatham, and Rockford.

State Sen. District 29
Bruce Anderson (R)

95 University Ave. W.
Minnesota Senate Bldg., Rm. 3209
St. Paul, MN 55155

Phone: 651-296-5981


Legislative Assistant: Sheila Luehrs 651-296-0769


Committees: chair of veterans and military affairs finance and policy, vice chair of local government, judiciary and public safety finance and policy, and transportation finance and policy.

Term: Second term, first elected in 2012

District 29 includes all of Wright County, with the exception of the northwest (Clearwater area), Cokato and Cokato Township, and also St. Michael, Albertville, Hanover, and Otsego.


US Rep. District 6 Tom Emmer (R)

District office:
9201 Quaday Ave. NE, Ste. 206
Otsego, MN 55330

Phone: 763-241-6848

Washington, DC office:
315 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Phone: 202-225-2331


Committees: financial services, subcommittee on capital markets and government-sponsored enterprises, subcommittee on monetary policy and trade, subcommittee on terrorism and illicit financing

Term: Second term, first elected 2014

US District 6 includes a large area that is north and west of the Twin Cities, stretching from south of Waconia and Norwood Young America to north of Holdingford and Foley.


Wright County Commissioner Charles Borrell (District 5)

10 Second St. NW
Buffalo, MN 55313




Committees: budget committee of the whole, building, ditch, noxious weed appeal, owners committee-courts facility, safety, security, tax-forfeit, transportation committee of the whole, and ways and means.

Advisory boards: Central MN Emergency Services; County Extension Service; Crow River Organization of Water; Legislative Matters; MN Rural Counties; One Watershed, One Plan Policy Committee; Planning Commission, Soil and Water Conservation District; Wright County Agricultural Society; Wright County Community Action Council.

Borrell also serves on the Central Minnesota Council on Aging and is a delegate to the Association of Minnesota Counties, serving on the Environment and Natural Resources Policy Committee.

District 5 includes Cokato, Delano, Howard Lake, Montrose, Waverly, Cokato Township, Franklin Township, French Lake Township, Marysville Township, Middleville Township, Stockholm Township, Victor Township, and Woodland Township.


US Sen. Amy Klobuchar (DFL)

Metro office:
1200 Washington Ave. S. Room 250
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Phone: 612-727-5220

Washington, DC office:
425 Dirksen Senate Building
Washington, DC 20510

Phone: 202-224-3244


Committees: judiciary; US Senate Democratic steering and outreach committee; rules and administration; commerce, science, and transportation; agriculture, nutrition, and forestry; and joint economic committee.

Term: Fourth term, first elected 2006

US Sen. Tina Smith (DFL)

Metro office:
60 Plato Blvd. E. Ste. 220
St. Paul, MN 55107

Phone: 651-221-1016

Washington, DC office:
309 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Phone: 202-224-5641


Committees: health, education, labor, and pensions; agriculture, nutrition, and forestry; and Indian affairs.

Term: Second term, appointed 2017, elected 2018