Delano High School Athletics & Activities

Athletics

Fall

Boys Cross Country

Head Coach: Jackson Lindquist

jackson.lindquist@delanoschools.com

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 2AA

Conference titles: 1977, 1992

Team State Tournaments: 1992, 1995

Girls Cross Country

Head Coach: Amy Rieder

amy.rieder@delanoschools.com

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 2AA

Conference titles: 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994

Team State Tournaments: None

Girls Swimming and Diving

Head Coach: Karen Shallbetter

karen.shallbetter@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 3A

Team Conference titles: None

Individual State Champions: Jordyn Wentzel (2015, 2017)

Football

Head Coach: Merrill Pavlovich

mandlpavlovich@charter.net

District: North Central South

Section: 6AAAA

Conference/District titles: 1963, 1964, 1965, 1977, 1978, 1981, 1982, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1998, 1999, 2010, 2015, 2017, 2019

State Tournaments: 1982, 1990, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2013, 2018, 2019

Girls Tennis

Head Coach: Kim Finn

klfinn@frontiernet.net

763-972-9336   

klfinn@frontiernet.net

Conference: Wright County

Section: 5AA

Team Conference titles: 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Team State Tournaments: 2006, 2015, 2016

Boys Soccer

Head Coach: John Bergh

berghj@aol.com

Conference: Wright County

Section: 6A

Conference titles: None

State Tournaments: None

Girls Soccer

Head Coach: Tristen Griffin

tristeng42@yahoo.com

Conference: Wright County

Section: 6A

Conference titles: None

State Tournaments: None

Volleyball

Head Coach: Rebecca Rue

becca.rue@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 5AA

Conference titles: 1976, 1982, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2009, 2015

State Tournaments: 1980, 2001, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2nd Class AA, 2010, 2013 (2nd, Class AAA)

Cheerleading

Head Coach: Cheyanne Lemmerman

chey4195@gmail.com

Winter

Dance

Head Coach: Melissa Koch

melissa.koch@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 3AA

Conference titles: 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009

State Tournaments: 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2016

Boys Hockey

Head Coach: Gerrit van Bergen

gerrit.vanbergen@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 2A

Conference titles: 2006

State Tournaments: 2017, 2019, 2020

Girls Hockey

Head Coach: Jackie Johnson

jackie.johnson@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 2A

Conference titles: None

State Tournaments: None

Boys Basketball

Head Coach: Terry Techam

ttecham@orono.k12.mn.us

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 5AAA

Conference titles: 1961, 1964, 1976, 1982, 1984, 1993, 1999, 2009, 2013

State Tournaments: 1993, 2013, 2018 (Class 3A Champion)

Girls Basketball

Head Coach: Seth Potter

seth.potter@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 6AAA

Conference titles: 1976, 1979, 1980, 1981

State Tournaments: None

Wrestling

Head Coach: Jeff Olson

jeff.olson@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 2AA

Conference titles: 2009, 2018

Team State Tournaments: None

Individual State Champions: Tucker Sjomeling (2013, 2016, 2017), Kevin Kneisl (2016)

Boys Swimming and Diving

(Co-op Delano/Watertown-Mayer)

Head Coach: Mark Seguin

mark.seguin@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 2A

Team Conference titles: 2019

Gymnastics

Head Coach: Jamie Greenberg

jamie.greenberg@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 5A

Conference titles: 1987, 1988, 1989, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2010, 2011

Team State Tournaments: 2001, 2010, 2011, 2013

Spring

Softball

Head Coach: AnnMarie Martino

annamarie.martino16@gmail.com

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 6AAA

Conference titles: 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2005

State Tournaments: 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1993, 1994, 1997, 1998, 2000, 2005

Baseball

Head Coach: Jeff Olson
jeff.olson@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 6AAA

Conference titles: 1963, 1964, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1989, 2006, 2010

State Tournaments: 1948, 1979, 1982, 1984, 2004, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

Boys Tennis

Head Coach: Jacob Olson

jacob.olson@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County

Section: 2AA

Team Conference titles: None

Team State Tournaments: None

Boys Golf

Head Coach: Tory Spanier and Rob Stocker

tory.spanier@delanoschools.org

robert.stocker@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 5AA

Team Conference titles: 1995, 1996

Team State Tournaments: None

Individual State Champions: Jordan Peters (2013)

Girls Golf

Head Coach: Jackie Johnson

jackie.johnson@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 5AA

Team Conference titles: None

Team State Tournaments: None

Boys Lacrosse

Head Coach: Aaron Hagerdorn

ahagerdorn@gmail.com

Conference: Wright County

Section: 2A

Conference titles: None

State Tournaments: None

Girls Lacrosse

Head Coach: Mindy Evers

coachmindy@icloud.com

Conference: Wright County

Section: 2A

Conference titles: None

State Tournaments: None

Boys Track and Field

Head Coach: Mitch Rue

mitch.rue@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 2AA

Team Conference titles: 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2001

Team State Tournaments: None

Girls Track and Field

Head Coach: Damon Clare

damon.clare@delanoschools.org

Conference: Wright County East

Section: 2AA

Conference titles: 1990, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2001, 2002

Team State Tournaments: 2000, 2002, 2003

Activities

Destination Imagination

Coordinator: Chris Runke

763-972-3365 ext. 2137

chris.runke@delanoschools.org

Tiger Strength

Contact: Gerrit vanBergen

gerrit.vanbergen@delanoschools.org

Tiger Trapshooting

Contact: John McClay

john_mcclay@ymail.com

Math League

Contact: Jerry Shouts

jerry.shouts@delanoschools.org

Science Olympiad

Contact: Karen Hohenstein

karen.hohenstein@delanoschools.org

Visual Arts

Head Coach: Ray Cordes

ray.cordes@delanoschools.org

Section: 2AA

Drama

Head Coach: Joe Lawrence

joe.lawrence@delanoschools.org

Section: 5AA

Music

High School Choir

Director: Eric Conway

763-972-3365 Ext. 1856

eric.conway@delanoschools.org

High School Band

Director: Jason Koets

763-972-3365 Ext. 1855

jason.koets@delanoschools.org

Information

Activities office

Director: Ryan Tool

763-972-3365 ext. 1904

ryan.tool@delanoschools.org

Administrative Assistant: Julie Strobl

763-972-3365 ext 1914

julie.strobl@delanoschools.org

Delano High School Statistics

ISD Numboer: 879

Enrollment (9-12): 772

Year Founded: 1894

Nickname: Tigers

Colors: Orange and Black

Song: Wave The Flag

MSHSL ID: 123

Admin. Region: 2AA

Superintendent: Matt Schoen

763-972-3665 ext. 1901

matt.schoen@delanoschools.org

Principal: Steve Heil

763-972-3365 ext. 1701

steve.heil@delanoschools.org

Governing Board Rep.: Corey Black

corey.black@delanoschools.org

Title IX Officer: Susan Farbo

763-972-3365 ext. 1717

susan.farbo@delanoschools.org

Newspaper: The Tiger Stripes

Advisor: Amy Poppler

763-972-3365 ext. 1832

amy.poppler@delanoschools.org

Website Contact: Stephen Schaack

763-971-3365 ext. 1834

stephen.schaack@delanoschools.org

Activities Calendar

www.wcconference.org

Minnesota State High School League

www.mshsl.org