Delano A’s Baseball

Adam Schleper puts the ball in play during the 2019 season. Schleper is a veteran player for the Delano Athletics in the North Star League. With a strong bat, Schleper’s value comes in his ability to play anywhere in the field. Photo By Matt Kane

Matt Kane
Sports Editor

Information updated March 2020 

Matt Kane

Sports Editor

The Delano Athletics play in the North Star League in Class C as part of the Minnesota Baseball Association.

The A’s were 22-4 overall in 2019 and 19-1 in the North Star League.

Delano hosted the Class C state tournament, but, unfortunately, the hometown nine did not make it.

The A’s were the top seed for the Region 12C tournament in Hutchinson, but, as someone once said, they play the games for a reason. No. 8 seeded Loretto upsed Delano 5-3 in the first round and Buffalo knocked Delano out with a 12-8 win over the A’s in the elimination round.

Delano players were all over the statistical leaderboard in the North Star League.

Infielder/pitcher Tyler Wolfe led the league with a .500 batting average and 36 runs batted in. He was also the top closer in the league, and won the MVP award.

Hunter Hart finished second in batting with a .447 average. He led the league with seven home runs, 34 hits and 25 runs scored.

Jack Paulson also finished in the top-10 in hitting with a .378 average in North Star League games.

Delano’s Jeremy Maschino was one of the best starting pitcher in the league. He finished with a miniscule 1.36 earned run average. That led the league.

Maschino was 7-0 with 48 strikeouts in 53 innings.

Somehow, that season did not net Maschino the pitcher of the year honor. That went to Howard Lake’s Mike Dockendorf, who went 7-1 with a 1.37 earned run average and 63 strikeouts in 79 innings.

The team that enjoyed a huge 2019 regular season is mostly back.

Maschino is back on a pitching staff that includes veterans Austin Schneider, Jackson Royer, Jake Gleason and Matt Arens, and second-year player Max Otto.

Paulson and Hart are also two effective pitchers for the A’s.

The lineup will be without the league MVP, as Wolfe is gone from the team. He is now the hitting coach for the St. Louis Cardinals’ Gulf Coast League team in rookie ball.

Hart and Paulson will be back.

Hart plays first base. Paulson is a middle-infielder and can play all over the diamond.

The veterans on the team include infielders Adam Schleper, Nate Norman and Matt Carson. The veteran outfielders returning in 2020 are Adam Jaunich, Brady Miller, Jeff Althoff and Toby Hanson. James Otto is the returning catcher. Veteran Ryan Hayes is a designated hitter. Steve Eilen is back at the helm  in his 37th season as manager.

There is a lot of talent in the pool of younger players. Some of those players saw time in 2019.

Max Otto and Cade Lommel are two young pitchers who will be called upon to eat up innings.

Tucker Hart is a second-year infielder, and Reno Bredahl is a second-year outfielder.

The rookies are catcher Tanner Kroells, infielder Robbie Knight, and outfielder Jack Kvasnicka.

State History

The A’s have played in the state tournament 23 times, including the 2018 tournament in Shakopee. The A’s lost 2-0 to Lake City in the first round.

The most memorable came in 1988, when Delano won the Class C championship. The A’s defeated current North Star League foe Maple Plain in the title game. Delano’s Dave Ditty was the tournament MVP.

The state-tournament win in 1988 moved Delano up to Class B, where it played through the 2010 season. The A’s moved back to Class C at the start of the 2011 season.

The win in 1988 remains as the A’s only state title, but it was not the only season in which they played in the final game of the season. Delano finished second in 1941 (A), 1942 (A), and 1971 (B).

A’s History

Delano’s town team is known as the Athletics now, but the team has also played under the monikers “Millers” and “Colts”. The Millers went to the state tournament in 1930, 1932, 1935; and the Colts went in 1940, 1941 (2nd place), and 1942 (2nd).

Delano Athletics 2020 Roster

# Player Pos.

  • 00 Austin Schneider P 4
  • 1 Adam Schleper INF 8
  • 2 Adam Jaunich OF 20
  • 3 Nate Norman INF 5
  • 6 Tanner Kroells C Rookie
  • 7 Jack Paulson INF 3
  • 8 James Otto INF 5
  • 9 Tucker Hart INF 2
  • 10 Brady Miller OF 5
  • 11 Jeff Althoff OF/P 13
  • 12 Jackson Royer P 3
  • 14 Matt Carson OF 3
  • 18 Reno Bredahl OF 2
  • 19 Ryan Hayes P/DH 13
  • 21 Jeremy Maschino P 6
  • 22 Robbie Knight INF Rookie
  • 23 Jake Gleason P 7
  • 24 Toby Hanson OF 8
  • 25 Max Otto P/INF 2
  • 27 Cade Lommel 1B/P 2
  • 29 Matt Arens P 11
  • 30 Hunter Hart INF 8
  • 33 Jack Kvasnicka OF Rookie
  • 34 Steve Eilen Mgr. 37