Chamber of Commerce

‘Equipping members to thrive in our business community’

The Delano Area Chamber of Commerce (DACC) is a member-driven organization, formed to support the Delano business community.

It is governed by a board of directors made up of nine volunteer business people and staffed by a part-time executive director.

Chamber members range from small, one-person, home-based businesses, to the largest businesses and employers in Delano.

The chamber continues to advocate for the West Metro Business Park as the community continues to experience growth. The DACC works with the City of Delano/economic development to foster a positive environment for business growth.

In addition to the new businesses that have made Delano home, the community is very fortunate that it has many, many long-standing businesses in the community that are the cornerstone of Delano. As the DACC looks to an exciting future, let’s take a moment to reflect on the past. The DACC has been a long-standing organization providing support to the business community. New businesses have been welcomed to the area by the DACC Ambassadors. The community expo, Taste of Delano and Good Morning/Evening Delano events have created continued marketing and networking opportunities. The candidate town hall meetings and “State Of” addresses have helped us get to know our elected officials and understand the economics of the city, county, and region. The Christmas Tree Lighting and Christmas with the King Elvis concert brought the community together. Manufacturers Week and the SciTech event put a spotlight on the manufacturing sector. The annual banquet and business of the year event were memorable events in 2016.

As we move through 2017, we will focus on marketing the West Metro Business Park, attracting additional retail business, filling up the downtown buildings, increasing our membership by focusing on retention and recruitment, and expanding our footprint on the Highway 12 corridor. 

Approximately one-third of the chamber’s members participate by regularly attending general meetings. The DACC is fortunate to have many active members. The chamber has six committees – business development, economic development, membership, government affairs, ambassadors, and a marketing task force. Within these committees, there are sub-committees that assist in executing the chamber’s annual initiatives.

Highlights of 2017 include the celebration of the 2017 Delano Business of the Year, Bauer Design Build, the DACC’s 28th annual Community Expo, the Taste of Delano, continued involvement with the Fourth of July Celebration’s pork chop and corn stand, as well as the Christmas Tree lighting in Downtown Delano and the Christmas with the King concerts (two shows planned in 2017) planned for December.

Chamber benefits include a red highlighted entry in this directory, listing on the chamber’s website directory, referrals from the chamber office, networking events, advertising through the chamber’s website, and at any chamber-sponsored community event, and more.

The chamber doesn’t want just membership fees – it wants its members’ input as to what the chamber can do to help its businesses thrive, and provide resources. It encourages members to make this organization what they want it to be.

The Delano Area Chamber of Commerce is a member of the Minnesota Better Business Bureau and the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, both which provide members with more benefits and training opportunities for chamber staff and volunteers. The DACC also developed the concept of a Wright County chamber executives gathering and partnered with the Wright County Economic Development Partnership to execute the first such meeting. As a result, additional meetings are planned in 2017.

Regular general membership meetings are the third Thursday of each month at noon. For the location of the next meeting, call (763) 972-6756, or e-mail

Other events and meetings are posted on the website and communicated to members through e-mail and social media. Check out the DACC website at and also find the chamber’s Facebook page.

The 2017 board of directors is: President Mike Nielsen (Sherman Insurance); Vice President Brad Felknor (Felknor & Associates); Treasurer Daryl MacLean (MacLean Law Office); Secretary Michelle Harwood (Harwood’s Auto Body); Jeanne Matter (Jeanne M. Matter CPA); Sabrina Stevens (Bagy Jo); Tom Screeden (Minnesota Lakes Bank); Steve Clark (Unhinged! Pizza); and Past President Becky Schaust (Coldwell Banker Burnet). The Executive Director is Ryan Gueningsman. Please let us know how we can help you “thrive in our business community” as we are open to your needs and suggestions to be stronger in 2017.