City of Independence

Information Updated March 2020

Independence Township was organized April 11, 1858, became the Village of Independence Jan. 8, 1957, and the City of Independence April 9, 1974.

Independence still offers the advantages of rural lifestyles to its residents, even though it is within the Twin Cities metropolitan district. Located on the western edge of Hennepin County, Independence is a city of 3,700.

Independence is a “gem” of a rural city in the heart of an exploding metropolis. It’s dotted with pretty, little farms, lovely and unique homes, attractive churches, lakes, ponds, rolling hills, wetlands, and large wooded areas.

Loretto, a little city with a number of quaint and excellent restaurants and taverns, is just to the northeast. The city of Delano, with its convenient shopping center, is located on the west boundary. The pretty, quiet, little city of Maple Plain is just to the east. Medina and Orono also lie immediately east, and Minnetrista is to the south.

Independence City Hall is located at 1920 County Road 90.

Mailing address: 1920 County Road 90, Independence, MN 55359

Phone: (763) 479-0527

Fax: (763) 479-0528


Building inspections: (763) 479-0531

Community room rental: (763) 479-0527

Office open Monday-Thursday 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.; Friday 8 a.m.-noon.

City council meetings are the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:30 p.m. at city hall.

The council consists of Mayor Marvin Johnson and council members Lynn Betts, Steve Grotting, Ray McCoy, and Brad Spencer.