City Council

Information updated March 2020

The Delano City Council is a group of five elected officials who each serve four-year terms. Delano’s Mayor is Dale Graunke. Betsy Moran, Jason Franzen, Holly Schrupp, and Jon Sutherland serve as Councilmembers. The Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month. Videos of the meetings, along with agendas and minutes, are available online. The Council would like to extend an invitation to all to come and experience local government in action!

Mayor Dale Graunke

Mayor Graunke is serving his second term as Mayor for the City of Delano. He was elected to serve a four year term in the November 2010 election and was reelected in 2014 & 2018. His current term will expire December 31, 2022. Mayor Graunke also serves as the President of the Delano Economic Development Authority (EDA). Mayor Graunke also serves on the Senior Advisory Board, School Subcommittee, and liaison to the Spirit of Community Commission, and Delano Planning Commission. Email contact:

Councilmember Betsy Moran

Councilmember Moran was elected to the Delano City Council in 2008 and was reelected in 2012 and again in 2016. Her current term will expire on December 31, 2020. Councilmember Moran also serves on the School Subcommittee. Email contact:

Councilmember Jason Franzen

Councilmember Franzen was elected to City Council in 2014. His current term will expire on December 31, 2022. Councilmember Franzen also serves as Vice President of the EDA. In addition, Franzen also serves on the Wright Co. Area Transportation. Email contact:

Councilmember Holly Schrupp

Councilmember Schrupp was originally appointed to Delano City Council in 2003 and continued through December, 2012. Councilmember Schrupp was reelected to serve a four year term in 2014—her current term will expire December 31, 2022. Mrs. Schrupp also serves as Treasurer of the EDA and liaison to Delano Fire and Rescue. Email contact:

Councilmember Jon Sutherland

Councilmember Sutherland was elected to the Delano City Council in 2016. His current term will expire on December 31, 2020. Mr. Sutherland serves on the safe schools subcommittee and liaison on the Park and Recreation Commission and Public Safety Commission. Email contact:


All Commission meetings are open to the public. Additional information; including agenda and minutes, and video of meetings (if available) can be found online: or by calling City Hall 763-972-0550.

Park & Recreation Commission

This commission advises the City Council on long and short term park management and construction for the City. Park and Rec meets on the 4th Wednesday of each month at 5pm.

Its current members are: Sarah Berres, Jessie Koch, Marnie Lucas, Sean Peterson, Tom Schaffer, Joe Schleper and Jonathon Werth.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is an advisory commission to the City Council. It is responsible for preparing and maintaining the City’s Comprehensive Plan. It is also responsible for making recommendations involving development projects, zoning issues, including plat approvals, zoning amendments, rezoning, variances, appeals, CUPs and other matters. Planning Commission meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of the month at 7pm.

Its current members are Wayne Bekkala, Jeremy Clarke, Jeff Demeules, Angela Kalthoff, Jon Krieg, Dan Menk, Steve Williams and Nat Malen.

Public Safety Commission

This commission has the authority to study, investigate and make recommendations regarding crime, public safety and lawn enforcement within the City. Public Safety meets six times a year on the last Monday of every other month at 7pm.

Its current members are: James Anderson, Matthew Boelter, Frank Coborn, Judith Criego, Dennis Deming, Mike Merriman, Roger Swenson and Tracy Vatruba.

Spirit of Community Commission

See more information on this commission on page 2. The Commission meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7pm. Its current members are: Tammy Frommelt, Sarah Grosshuesch, Ted May, Chad Kestner and Theressa Schlosser-Green.

Water Light and Power Comm.

The Delano Municipal Utilities is a non-profit electric and water utility owned by the City and operated by the WL&P Commission. The Commission meets on the 3rd Monday of each month at 7pm. Its current members are Jason Franzen, Randy Keranen, Larry Nelson, Jonathon Ness and Adam Steffl.